PDA

View Full Version : Looking to buy 93 crew SLE dually 6.5 TD

vault
01-09-2007, 16:24
I've just started to look for a truck and came accross this one. This is going to be the first diesel I've looked at so I have nothing to compare it too. I know value is in the eye of the beholder but, I'm looking for some opinions since I'm new to the diesel game.

Use: I'm looking for a work truck. Primarly to haul construction materials 2x4 etc. and landscaping materials. Occassionally I would haul a car or my 1967 intermational 504 tractor w/loader not any great distance 25mi. It would also need to be the second family car 2 kids 2 dogs.

Since this is an older high millage truck I know to expect maitaince. I've never worked on a diesel. I have changed the usual starters, plugs, water pumps, etc..
have restored a 73 corvette convert 454 4spd that was almost in scrap cond. Also I converted a jeep Cj7 to a chevy small block 400 with turbo 400 tranny.

The truck the owner says he is a mech a a dealership. the vehicle has 215000 with a used motor put in at 185000 that had 80,000 on it already. It has new glow plugs, injectors and pump as well as new cooling lines. It has power windows, doors, keyless entry. auto tranny. He used it to pull his race car. He calims the paint and interior are in perfect shape- which I find hard to believe with 215,000 but miles in the seat!

asking $5200

from diong the kelly blue book it seems reasonable. I just started looking and have only really seen fords F350's this is the first chev I've come accross. I know it is impossible with out seeing. to truly evaluate it. I just trying to get a "temp" as to the price range.

xtrempickup
01-09-2007, 17:21