PDA

View Full Version : Brake controller

BozDMAX
10-05-2006, 17:24
On a trip to TN from upstate NY and noticed my brake controller (a Jordan Ultima that I have had on the truck for 4 years) was suddenly not showing any current even though the continuity light shows it hooked up. I put a meter on the truck side of the connector and it shows 12V on the brake line even WITHOUT applying the brakes.

I don't think that's right... By my way of thinking, push brake and it applies voltage to the line to activate the brakes.

Since I am sitting here in the middle of a thunderstorm, I will wait until later to pull some more wires and check again.

Anyone ever see anything like this?

HowieE
10-07-2006, 13:24
Hi BozDMAX

I have been using a Jordan for close to 10 years and Have not seen that one.

I just measured mine and yes there is voltage on the brake line with the trailer disconnected. However it is about a volt lower than the power feed to the trailer. This is how the Jordan sences the trailer. I would assume if you hooked up a dummy load, a head lamp, to the brake lead at the rear of your truck the light would not light. That circuit while the controller is not applying the brakes is current limited other wise your trailer brakes would be on at all time.

To test the controller. If you have an amp meter designed to fit over the brake lead clip it ovr the brake line and push the pedal down while the trailer is hooked up. The current should advance as you depress the pedal. If you don't have an amp meter. Unhook the trailer. Take a dummy load such as a head lamp and while the lamp is hooked into the brake lead at the rear bumper and ground have someone slowly depress the brake pedal. The lamp should brighten as they advance the pedal.