PDA

View Full Version : New guy with a couple ?s

bfourman
09-19-2006, 13:10
Hey all, I'm shopping around for a tow vehicle/DD and wanted to get some input from the people that drive them everyday. I'm not a diesel newbie, as our work trucks are PSDs, but I personally don't care for them as a DD. Plans for this vehicle include a popup style slide in camper most weekends and a Jeep Cherokee on a 16' trailer occasionally.

I came across this 96 3500 in the local trader magazine, and wanted to find out anything specific I should look/ask/listen for when I check it out. I read through a few pages on here and saw that the PMD/OPS is a pretty normal problem. Anything else I should be aware of?

http://www.auto-rv.com/ADImages/jpg/CI4240061.jpg

1996 GMC 3500. 184,000 mi., great work truck, 6.5L turbo diesel, all power, runs great! Gooseneck hitch, Reese hitch, new 10 ply tires, 4x4. $6,500 OBO. Muncie, IN.

Thanks, and sorry for the long post.

sturgeon-phish
09-19-2006, 13:16
Look to see if it is the early or late '96. Late '96 will have a dual t stat setup that is much better. Look for 4 bolts on the T stat housing. See if the IP was changed out and if so if under warrenty. Warrenty good for 10 years and 120K. Good looking truck.
Jim

crazpony
09-19-2006, 14:52
I can tell you, I have a 97 K3500 dually 4X4, great towing capacity, I tow 2 different types of horse trailers, a bumper pull (wgt around 7500lbs) and a gooseneck (wgt around 11000lbs). The truck doesn't even know they're there at 70mph with the A/C running.