PDA

View Full Version : ditch the 6.2??

3and3oneton
09-12-2006, 15:17
I am currently having some trouble w/ the 6.2 in my 85 one ton, before the truck quit I also found that it did not tow as well as I had expected. Lack of power towing a light boat over the snoqualmie pass, overheated, and poor gas mileage. it is a 4 speed w/ a ranger overdrive I installed. How difficult would it be to swap in a '94 6.5 turbo, or would just turbocharging the 6.2 w/ a banks or turbo from a 6.5 be an effective solution. Any thoughts or info would be appreciated. I am new to diesels, but accustomed to working on my own gas cars, so everything is a learning opportunity for me. Thanks!

84 Convert
09-13-2006, 22:52
How did the truck quit?

I had similar problems with my CC (overheating, poor milage) prior to the head gaskets finally hydro- locking the motor.

For more power you are on the right track. IF you do not have A/C I'm pretty sure the turbo off a 6.5 will fit. If you do have A/C, you might consider just purchasing the pass. side exhaust manifold and crossover pipe from banks and using the rest of the 6.5 system. (If you're a real fabricator search the 6.2 forum for info on how to retrofit the 6.5 turbo to A/C equipped trucks like yours). I would avoid the electronic pump since you do not already have it. Look for a DB2-4911 mechanical pump for more power.

You might also want to check the timing, since that can really kill mileage and power.

How do you like the Ranger splitter? I have been cosidering one for my truck.

I have towed with a GCW of 18-19K with my crew cab. It isn't quick but the job gets done.

Good luck,

Gregg

Rot Box
09-13-2006, 22:52