PDA

View Full Version : What fuel do you run in the winter?

Big Red Suburban
01-05-2004, 12:59
I feel silly asking this question, but I've heard so many different things lately. This suburban is my first diesel so I'm still learning.

I am currently running #2 from the pump and I always add Power Service Fuel Supplement. I try to follow the recommendations on the bottle (32 oz treats 100 gallons), however with the latest cold spell I increased this amount slightly.

It is currently + 3 degrees out. Tonight is supposed to reach -10 F.

I don't have a garage to park it inside, however it does get plugged in.

What should I be using? Is treated #2 just as good as #1 to prevent gelling?

Thanks...

Gapper_ca
01-05-2004, 13:41
is the fuel supplement a anti-gelling one as well

if i am right the # 2 fuel is winter fuel so that yuo should not have any problem. not sure about it there but up here they start to blend off the summer fuel to winter in late sept-oct. so now all you buy is winter fuel.

Big Red Suburban
01-05-2004, 14:10
It is a Diesel Fuel Supplement + Cetane Boost, it is listed as an antigel (they claim the most effective in the industry). The website says it prevents gelling down to -40 F.

I believe #1 is the winter blend and #2 is the summer. I think #2 has more lubricating properties and more energy per unit volume than #1.

MTTwister
01-05-2004, 14:33
I think the pump will say if they'er supplying a 'blend'.( usually in grease pencil around here) I noticed that the 50/50 blend was about $.10 more at my last fillup at a truck stop.

However, It was -40 this AM, and with it plugged in - it finally started (one long painful crank, and a few cylinders ticking off at first.)
Needed 4WD to bust the grease loose in the bearings, tho'. smile.gif

Big Red Suburban
01-05-2004, 14:52