PDA

View Full Version : Swap Questions: 6.2/6.5 vs Cummins 4BT

ThePIGSmith
08-23-2006, 18:55
I am studying the idea of swapping in a Diesel in my 1986 Jeep Grand Wagoneer.

My original thoughts were for a 6.2/6.5, but I've been reading where the Cummings 4BT can get over 30 miles per gallon of fuel.
Also, the 4BT can accept all the performance upgrades that the Dodge 6BT can take (larger injectors, maybe IP) and can also take lots of boost.
So it's stock 120 HP can be 'turned up' between 160 and 200, depending how deep one's wallet is.

My thoughts to make a Full Size Jeep get 30+ MPG and have lots of grace and style while doing it.

I would like to hear opinions of why the 6.2/6.5 would be a better swap or not.
Or how the Cummins 4BT would be a better swap candidate or not.

gmctd
08-24-2006, 05:49
If that Wagoneer has a seperate steel frame, the only problem will be the heighth of the Cummins engine - will it fit between the hood and the front suspension.

A ring for the Chevy clutch housing was a standard option, so you can use the NV4500 5-speed and other GM

A ring for the Chrysler bolt pattern is also available, so you can use the NV4500 or Torqueflyte trans from the big Dodge\Cummins setup.

ThePIGSmith
08-24-2006, 07:14
If that Wagoneer has a seperate steel frame, the only problem will be the heighth of the Cummins engine - will it fit between the hood and the front suspension.

A ring for the Chevy clutch housing was a standard option, so you can use the NV4500 5-speed and other GM

A ring for the Chrysler bolt pattern is also available, so you can use the NV4500 or Torqueflyte trans from the big Dodge\Cummins setup.

All Full Sized Jeeps (Wagoneers, the original Cherokee, J Series Truck) have a seperate steel frame
Height is not a problem.

A few other folks have performed this swap with good results.
The Cummins 4BT fits FSJ's engine bay well.
On the other hand, the Cummins 6BT is a wee bit to long.