PDA

View Full Version : hard first starts

crjones1977
05-21-2006, 21:30
im very new to the diesel world,first thing in the morning my 1987 6.2l is hard to start. it has new glow plugs, proper voltage to controler. a small squirt or starting fluid and it starts. the glow plug light stays on for 25 to 30 sec. after starting. then its fine for the rest of the day. if it is really cold outside
(30-40) degres the glow plugs will come on. i would like to start it with out starting fluid, i've checked the grounds from battery, on the rear of the intake, and on the starter,anyone with any ideas, i would also like to add some simple power upgrade,intake, injectors, headers?anything to get it to go. i have had a hard time finding these things on the web
thanks
chuck

DmaxMaverick
05-21-2006, 22:02
Welcome to the Forums!

First off, glow plugs and ether (starting fluid) don't mix! From your description, it sounds like you have failed glow plugs. If not before you had to use ether, certainly after. You need to check each plug. Disconnect them, and check with an ohm meter or test light. Continuity usually means they are OK, and an open circuit means they are shot.

If you don't know what plugs you have installed, I suggest you replace all of them with a known good brand and model. If you stay with GM parts, get AC 60G plugs. Else, I suggest you go to www.kennedydiesel.com and get a set of Kennedy Quick Heats. The Quick Heats won't require any modification to a working controller. If you use 60G's, you'll probably have to modify your controller for a longer glow cycle. Unless you get ripped off by some swindler (like you'll find on Ebay, the dealer, or some independents), all glow plugs will cost about the same, around $10 each.

Once you confirm you have a healthy glow plug system, it should start easily. If not, it will be much easier to diagnose the issue.