PDA

View Full Version : Ground Problem

DieselNubie
08-09-2004, 13:54
I have a 94 K3500 Crew Cab Pickup. I'm trying to find a ground problem. I can't seem to find any information on the web on how to look for and correct a grounding problem. :confused: I've seen several posts on the forum but no information on how to fix the problem. I'm new to working on Diesel's but can turn a wrench.

Any help would be much appreciated!!! smile.gif

HowieE
08-09-2004, 14:44
What area are you working on? GM grounds at different points around the truck.
In general if you have voltage to a given item (a light) and the item is not responding you can check if it is a ground problem by substituting a good known ground. Take a wire and attach it to frame metal and touch the other end of the wire to ground side of the item in question. If the item works during this test it is an open ground problem you are facing.

MTTwister
08-09-2004, 14:51
Whoa - easy does it Howie - cut back on the coffee. smile.gif

You've probably read up on all the possible faulty ground points - so as Howie so succintly put it - any particular problem you're trying to track down?

DieselNubie
08-09-2004, 15:33
Thanks for your multiple responses!!! tongue.gif

:confused: Well, it's a couple of problems. I installed a new stero system with a big speaker and a big amp to power it. My volt meter which used to read around 14V (Straight up and down) now it's about 12V. Not really enough to recharge the battery. Also, my pyrometer is moving to the bass thump. It doesn't help me a whole lot when I'm listening to music and towing since the gauge won't stay still. I found the ground wire for the gauges and grounded it directly to the battery and the gauge stays still. Looks like a cab ground problem. I'm sure the ground we used for the amp is not a good ground so I'm going to rewire the amps to the battery.

Any help would be appreciated.

Dvldog 8793
08-09-2004, 17:00
Howdy