PDA

View Full Version : Where can I get rebuilding specs for the DB2 pumps?

HANK1948
03-05-2006, 07:32
I looking to rebuild my pump, I was told by a very good diesel tech that its not that difficult to rebuild one, as long as the pump clearences check out its only a matter of replacing seals and bushings. I called on a rebuild kit for a DB2 and they are only 35 bucks! I am a machinist so Iam used to measuring very close tolerences and very confident I can do this as long as It checks out. Has anybody done this as well?.

So Iam looking to get a manual for the pump, Iam sure there is somthing out there.

More Power
03-06-2006, 10:28
Stanadyne considers its rebuild/recal data proprietary, and its authorized service centers tend to follow Standayne's franchise agreements because they know that the emissions specifications for each pump will be assured when the pumps are rebuilt/remanufactured according to specs.

The test & recal equipment used by an authorized Stanadyne shop is very costly, but necessary to rebuild/recalibrate one correctly. The cost of a reman pump includes a portion of the overhead for properly equipping and staffing a certified shop.

This is the explanation I received many years ago soon after TDP began.

Jim

gmctd
03-06-2006, 15:31
The military manuals give complete theory of operation and repair for all the systems and pumps, 6.2 and 6.5.

As long as the transfer pump isn't scored, and the rotor-head clearance is within spec for low-rpm starting, it is just a matter of seals.

As Jim stated, tho, it takes big-bucks equipment to verify the IP meets the spec

BTW - while you're looking, see if you can nab the Hummer 6.5 EFI manual for me!:cool:

HANK1948
03-07-2006, 10:30
Thanks Guys,
I think I found a military manual for the 6.2 on Ebay now that you mention it, I will check it out.

Tatraplan
03-07-2006, 14:42
I got two military manuals via Ebay a while ago. They're
called 9-2815-237-34 and 9-2815-237-34P. They include