PDA

View Full Version : Twin Ic's

NYCEGUY01
02-26-2006, 19:34
Been doing lots of reading in the last several months. Done lots of measuring and with the space alotted in my 97 dually ive been thinking of maybe 2 smaller ic's instead of 1 large one. I have a nice extra wide (lowrider style lol)
front bumper and i found that i could put 1 cooler next to another (end to end) and then cut 2 large rect. holes in the bumper with billet grille inserts in front of them. Im no expert but would 2 coolers in series be effective? I may not be wording this right but dammit i know what i mean lol
I will have to do some mockup before commiting but dont want to waste the time if it just wont be effective. ive seen a bunch of other homebuilt jobs out there and most here look good. But with how i use ( or abuse ) my hauler im afraid to put one down there in harms. ( something about taking off a dented up skidplate and replacing it with a fragile alumunum cooler)
I may just use an air to water and build a 15 gallon water tank next to my 100 gal fuel tank and hide a small radiator and fan under the bed or in the cargo box.
Any how this post is rambling and any ideas would be appreciated ,good or bad( wont be the 1st time ive been called a dumb redneck )lol

restoguy
02-27-2006, 09:34
I'm like you. I have nightmares about horrible damage to the cooler in the 'down under' location. I drive on lots of gravel roads and I can see a rock putting a hole in it. Or a branch comming up and going clear through as I drive along some trees hunting pheasants. I've thought about putting expanded metal over it to stop the big stuff and covering that with a fine mesh to stop the little debris, but all that will cut down on airflow. I'd like to see a pic of this bumper your using. I like the idea.

ronniejoe
02-27-2006, 10:36
Two coolers in series can be effective if they are sized properly.