PDA

View Full Version : Kennedy Headlamp Upgrade: Getting Flashed While Towing

wheeler
04-05-2003, 09:04
I'm really impressed with the light output with the Kennedy headlamp harness and low and high bulb upgrade, which I've been using for three months. Had never been flashed by oncoming motorists until last night, first time I pulled my fifth wheel, when practically every passing driver flashed me.

So with fifth wheel attached and weighing down back of the truck the headlamps are shooting up into people's eyes... I read the owner's manual and couldn't find anything about headlamp aiming. Is it easy to do?

Will I have any luck? It's an up and down problem, right, not left to right? Is there a happy medium to good headlamp aim while towing and not being too low when driving solo? I don't know if it's just the aiming or if the upgraded bulb wattage is just too much light-- since I'm used to upgrade, hate to go back to stock bulbs!

Or is this telling me the truck is squatting too much in the rear under load, with other safety implications as well? (Rear tire and wheel weight ratings are okay but at max.) Other than this headlamp issue, the truck/trailer combo seems to handle beautifully. Thanks! --wheeler

Fathead
04-05-2003, 10:28
I used to get flashed all the time when hauling my 5th. wheel even with the stock bulbs. You only have to squat a little bit to cause this problem. Even though my rig handled very well I added air bags to bring it back to perfectly level. I have also discovered that the air bags made an already good riding setup even better.And I love those Kennedy beams and haven't been flash.
FH. smile.gif

[ 04-05-2003: Message edited by: Fathead ]</p>

wheeler
04-05-2003, 11:36