PDA

View Full Version : Is this abnormal?

silverback
11-25-2003, 20:47
Note: I originally posted this on the engine forum and had no response. I'm beginning to think it's really a brake issue.

Hi all, At almost 190 miles old I've been eperiencing a high frequency (buzzing) vibration coming through the brake pedal when I'm stopped in traffic. I can see this in the mirrors a little too. Has anyone else experienced anything like this? Will it go away after break in? Do I need to meet my service advisor? Or is this a diesel thing? Have to admit it doesn't bother me that much (kind of a tingling foot massage). Then again I just gave Chevy a whole bucket of cash and I want a machine that is solid. Also, I'm new to the diesel way of motoring and don't know what's normal (yet)
Thanks,
Ken

[ 11-26-2003, 03:03 PM: Message edited by: silverback ]

Barc
11-28-2003, 12:39
My guess is that it is just the vibration of the mighty DMax - I know that if I have a bottle of water in the cupholders (which I hate) there is a constant rippling effect while you are stopped at a light. If it gets any worse, have your service department check it out but for now I would say "Go out and drive it, ENJOY!!!!!" :D :D

letsgo
11-28-2003, 14:20
ABS brakes can do what your discribing or they can pound your foot, but these two effects are if a wheel is locking up, to disprove an ABS fault drive fast in a gravel parking lot and apply your brakes untill you get your vibration, then check the ground to see if any wheels locked up.

been there done that.

good luck.

SoMnDMAX
11-28-2003, 21:54
A defective Hydro Boost (brake booster) unit could cause a similar vibration.

The vibration is there only when the brake is pushed, correct? What happens if you try to push the brake pedal to the floor? Does the vibration frequency change?

silverback
11-29-2003, 14:54
SoMnDMAX,