PDA

View Full Version : Researching a new truck

addicted to coffee
12-31-2002, 14:24
I started doing research on a new pickup about a month ago and ran into "The Diesel Page".
WOW! Great site.

I have two Chevy's, one for work and another for play.

Work Truck
1995 Silverado K3500 DRW, Ext. Cab, 6.5TD, auto, most of the factory "bells and whistles". Big O "Dual Groove" 235/85R16E, Leer camper shell. 220+K miles. Runs like a champ, but starting to get a little frayed around the collar and cuffs.

Play Truck
2000 Silverado LS K3500 SRW, Crew Cab, 454, auto, all of the factory "bells and whistles" incl leather. Power sliding rear window, Four inch lift, BFG 33x12.5R16.5D, 60+K miles. Runs great. I bought it from a friend (local Chevy dealer) and now my brother wants it.

So I started thinking about selling the gasser to the kid brother (I've been a diesel driver for a long time, but he's a gasser and will be no matter the logic of TD power) and upgrading the work truck. Sort of combining the functions and lessening the parking requirements around my backyard.

Here is a snapshot of the planned purchase.

2003 (2004?) LT K3500 DRW, Crew Cab, Duramax/Allison w/all of the factory "bells and whistles".
DiabloSport Predator
AFE ram air intake
Banks exhaust brake
Banks 4" stainless steel exhaust
ATS Level 1 (torque converter)
ATS Level 2 (valve body)
Westach A-pillar w/pyrometer, boost, and tranny temp guages
TEA Dominator 8-10 lug wheel adapters
Alcoa 7.50x19.5 wheels, hubcaps, and chrome lug caps
Bridgestone M716 285/70R19.5G M+S (35.4" diameter)
Hill 4 Wheel Drive torsion bar cams (2.5" front lift)
Power sliding rear window
TransferFlow 56 gallon replacement fuel tank
TransferFlow Tool box w/50 gal aux. fuel tank
Snuglid hard tonneau cover
Ranch Hand front end (bumper and grill guard)
Ranch Hand Dually rear bumber

Now I must ask a favor of everyone. Does anyone see a problem (other than the expense;) or conflict between the add-ons?

Thanks for the help.