PDA

View Full Version : best value in Alli upgrade kits

biker Wayne
11-13-2003, 10:57
I'm not a mechanic and don't know much about the Allison or the upgrade kits available. I've seen a lot of discussion about the ATS Copilot kit and the Transgo kit. I'm looking for a comparison of the different kits for a moderate increase in HP, like adding either a regular Juice or the hot Juice (ie addn 90 to 120 hp at the rear wheels). I know there are level 2 and 3 kits available for up to 550 rwhp, but I don't need to go that far. What is the best bang for the buck in tranny upgrade kits for 350 rwhp (assuming that stock is 250)?
I bought the extended warranty so I have the Alli covered for a total of 100K miles. I'm planning on keeping the truck if it hasn't shown signs of heavy maintenance at 100K. If the Alli dumps before then, I'll have it covered under warranty. If its running fine at 100K, I think I'll have an upgrade kit put in and fix any plates that are burned. Are there any problems with my logic?
Thanks.

a bear
11-13-2003, 15:47
I recommend TransGo shift kit and single disc converter upgrade.

mike Any particular reason? :confused:

403turbo
11-14-2003, 10:18
I agree with Mike L.

For a moderate level of power increase the Transgo and a convertor is the way to go.

If you are absolutley going to stop at +125 horse you could probably get by with just a Transgo and skip the TC. Anymore and you would be foolish to not upgrade the TC.

R&R costs are the big factor, replace the TC while you have it apart if you think you might want more than +125 HP

RichBailey
11-14-2003, 11:17
Mike L.
Please send me an email, I have a couple of questions for you. parussky@yahoo.com
Rich

dmaxalliTech
11-14-2003, 18:21