PDA

View Full Version : Usable capacity, short bed fuel tank?

K1XV
07-05-2003, 07:46
Yesterday I ran down the fuel to the point where the DIC "Range" message said "low". (I know this is a bad idea and I have never done it before) It took 24.3 gallons to fill the tank.

How close was I to running out? Just wondering.

rtquig
07-05-2003, 08:39
If I'm not mistaken, I believe the short bed has a 26 gallon tank.

Burner
07-05-2003, 12:23
If you use the "neck" as part of the fuel tank then I'd say ya had 2.7 gallons.

Burner------> :D

LA DMAX
07-05-2003, 16:19
I'd agree with Burner. If you use the neck you get an extra gallon over the 26 gal. tank. Believe me, I've put 26.5 gallons on a fillup not to long ago. Was I scared? Yup, will try not to do it again, I was just trying to make it to my usual station.
Later

LA DMAX

K1XV
07-05-2003, 16:39
I guess I had about a gallon and a half to go. I also wanted to get back to my usual station. Funny, in that last 5 miles I kept on imagining noises and engine misses, but they were just in my imagination.

sdaver
07-06-2003, 19:29
ran out today the motor did not quit but when I stepped on it there was a very noticeable reduction in performance......... large gforce very low fuel big gulp of air............filled and bled took 25.6 gallons.......wont do that again :D dave

NWDmax
07-06-2003, 19:46
sdaver:How long was your wif on?

sdaver
07-06-2003, 20:40
low fuel lite maybe?..........for about 25 miles

DieselDixon
07-06-2003, 22:14
That's why I got the long bed...

JimWilson
07-07-2003, 16:11
Mine goes on when there's about 1 gallon left, so if I don't find a station fast (like within 10 miles :D ) I'm toast. Personally, I wish GM had the light go on with 3 gallons left. With the mileage as bad as it is at least that way I'd get a decent warning.

Tsckey
07-07-2003, 19:42