PDA

View Full Version : 1994 35ooHD L Pack

Greg Hoffmann
07-17-2002, 14:09
I am a new member to this site. I am interested in buying a 3500HD L-Pack with 6.5 TD,2 whl dr. , plow frame -no plow, auto , and behind the cab tool box. This truck looks cherry has 46,000 miles but they want $18,500.00. This seems like a small fortune for a truck of this vintage. Any thoughts. I will be using it for towing my 10,ooo lb. trailer around the hills of southern Vermont. If any one can make recomendations I am all ears. Thanks in advance, Greg

hammer
07-17-2002, 16:20
Greg Hoffmann,The 6.5 has a bad reputation,Try to go to a new 6.6 Duramax.Twice the motor for your money.Old saying,you get what you pay for.Everybody I have talked to that has had a 6.5 say there were nothing but trouble,and you wont get the fuel mileage or power that the 6.6 has.Hammer smile.gif smile.gif

Greg Hoffmann
07-18-2002, 05:41
Hey Hammer thanks for the reply. Do all 6.5 share the same characteristics ? I am new to the diesel engines. I really think they must be the way to go for towing in these hills. These 3500HD trucks look real sharp and sure are comfortable compared to my 1971 F-350 dually 1 ton dump.

hammer
07-18-2002, 08:43
Greg Hoffmann,You might get lucky & get one that is fairly reliable but your taking a chance with the ole 6.5 Diesel.Ive talked to too many guys that have owned one & have said there not really reliable.If it was my choice on a older one I think Id go for a F truck with the International first,but if I was going with GM then Id go for the D/A.Ive had mine now for over a year & it has bene flawless.You have to decide what to do,your money & youll have to live with what you get.You might get lucky with a 6.5 & not have any trouble,then again you might get one that is a bummer.What ever way you go good luck in getting it & hope you are satisfied.Hammer smile.gif smile.gif

Lawnboy
07-18-2002, 08:58
Greg,