PDA

View Full Version : Annoying Auto Headlights!

GMC D-Max
07-16-2002, 13:32
I did a search and found plenty of info on disabling the Automatic headlight feature, but what I would like to do is modify the sensitivity of the sensor on the dash. Is there a mod that can cause the system to wait until it's darker before triggering the headlights? Mine come on sometimes in the middle of the day if it's cloudy (which happens alot here in Washington!). Any ideas?

MudNurI
07-16-2002, 13:37
Maybe I'm missing something, but how can automatic headlights be a bad thing? Mine are not overly sensative, however maybe I'm a lazy driver, the last 3 trucks we have had, I have NEVER turned on my headlights, LOVE the auto feature..

someone explain to me what is the big deal with these things? And why people are going through the trouble of disabling them? wonder if your the cause of an accident, if they find out yours are off, when should be on you'll be in "the wrong?" Kind of a safety feature isn't it?

Brandy

DmaxMaverick
07-16-2002, 14:08
Brandy

I don't understand it either. Must be a control thing.

GMC D-Max
Sounds like a dealer problem if you still have warranty. They will replace the photocell on the dash if it is too sensitive. I haven't heard of any of them being adjustible.

Cheers

mackin
07-16-2002, 14:19
Not only do I like the feature, I aspect everything I drive to have the same feature ...... How many times have I jumped in my old jalopy,or some one elses vehicle, and driven down the road with no lights on, and be flashed by on coming traffic ...... :rolleyes:

MAC

Lawnboy
07-16-2002, 14:32
In the US its a law for motorcycles to have them on ALL THE TIME. IMO, So should other vehicles. I always have mine turned on. I'd like to wire them to come on with the key. Safety first!