PDA

View Full Version : For the allison crew, Big Al/Buckman/MrWolf

RKB'S HD
02-20-2003, 21:27
HI guys newbie here. Been reading for awhile you guys sure know your stuff about these trucks.Very refreshing especialy since when you ask the guys at dealership a question, they just shrug and reply they will have to call and ask GM.
I have a 2002 2500HD CC/8.1/allison with 26000 MI.
I took it into the dealer the other day to have them check out the trans.It would shudder as it went into 3rd gear but only after the temp. got above 150 on the gauge.They had it for about an hour and determined it needed a new tranny.
was wondering if someone could find out what went wrong with the original trans? vin# for the truck is 1GCH23G42F196443 Thank you very much in advance. Hope I can help you guys out with something in the future.

Buckman
02-21-2003, 15:05
I have a mole who might be able to find what you seek. It might take a bit of time, but I've always believed that patience is a virtue. I'll let you know if/when any information becomes available. ;) ;)

RKB'S HD
02-21-2003, 18:20
Thank you Buckman for any help you can give.

dmaxalliTech
02-23-2003, 20:12
you could have a couple of problems, both of which will require replacement of trans regardless but at least you know whats up... GM has not authorized field repair of these other then electrical and fluid leak issues.

The tcc starts to apply in second gear after the truck is warmed up, after 150 on the gauge, or close to it.. warm regardless, if the tcc is slipping this could cause it, I dont think this is it because you would most likely get problems in other gears.