PDA

View Full Version : New member. Got ?'s

danhercules
12-22-2003, 11:42
Newbie here!!! Lots of good info here. I will be reading for days!!! Glad I found the site.

I have a '97 GMC. 4x4. I recently put large tires on the truck. I noticed a huge diffrence in pulling. Temp also rose quickly. How can I find out what gears are in my truck and what gears to put in?

Also, what are some good power mods? It there a way to turn the boost up a bit? I have a 3.5'' exhuast with no cat. Is there a good "chip" program that is recomeded. I also have a K&N.

I am very new to turbos and diesels.

Cowracer
12-22-2003, 11:58
Well, you have come to the right place. You are about to get a phD in 6.5 disel-ology.

As with any engine, changing the tire size can signifigantly alter final overall gearing. Use the RPO codes listed on the glovebox door to find your factory gearing. There is a RPO Decoder in the member area.

Many people with the 6.5 (myself included) have had great luck with an aftermarket chip. Bill Heath (click here) (http://www.turbo-master.com) or John Kennedy (click here) (http://www.kennedydiesel.com) are the most popular.

First off, get some gauges. At a minimum, you should have a boost gauge and a pyrometer. A trans temp gauge is helpful if you tow a lot.

Everyone here will agree with me. GAUGES FIRST. then, and only then, go for power with a chip/boost control

Tim

danhercules
12-22-2003, 12:15
What is a pyrometer?
I have aslo read somthing like a EGT. Is that an exaust gas temp? Should l have that on now?

What kinda boost is stock? I read the is ok to go around 10 or 12. That sound right?

ucdavis
12-22-2003, 13:04
Pyrometer = EGT = exhuast gas temp = most important piece of operating data on this rig next to basic oil pressure. EGT's too high = diesel death by cracked castings (stick around & you'll read the occasional tear-jerker).