PDA

View Full Version : 93 hard start and noisy

Firefarm
12-20-2003, 16:40
I have a 93 that has a hard start issue. After the truck sits for a few minutes, it won't start without excessive cranking. If it sits overnight, it will not start at all unless you give it just a breath of ether. After it does start, the engine is louder than I remember and it sounds like it is running labored, like it is out of time. The problem happened all at once, so I can't believe it is a compression issue.

Is it possible that something happened to make screw up the timing???

Jim P
12-20-2003, 17:00
I have no experience with this but I have heard that sometimes a key shears off. I am not sure if it is on the camshaft or the crankshaft.

DmaxMaverick
12-21-2003, 02:50
Sounds like you lost a couple glow plugs, and the ether took out most of the remaining ones. Ether is a big no-no with glow plugs. Been there. Done that.

tbuck
12-21-2003, 10:04
Firefarm,
I had a similar problem with my '93. My truck had a hard time starting and after replacing glow plugs and injector (which I wanted to replace anyway in the future) I found out it was the lift(fuel) pump. My IP had enough lift to keep it running, but not enough to get it started.
I don't know how knowledgable you are with diesels, so if you already know how to check it, ignore the rest of my post.

A very easy way to check it is to hook up a jumper wire from the battery to the lift pump. On the '93 there is a disconnect at the firewall near the steering shaft. Just follow the wires from the pump to the engine compartment and you should be able to find it. Hook it up to the battery and you should hear the pump humming. Next crack open the air-bleed valve on top of your fuel filter and fuel should pump freely out of the top. If it is a slow trickle or nonexistant, that could be the source.
If I would have done this earlier, it would have saved me weeks of headaches

cruzer
12-22-2003, 08:13