PDA

View Full Version : Reduced by the Fan

FlyRod
08-21-2004, 14:00
OK, I am getting real ****ed now! I've just read a nice article in motor trend magazine about the three major brands of diesel trucks. The GM came in 2nd place! From what I gathered from the article, the reason GM came in 2nd place was basically because the fan clutch kicked in during the pull test. As we all know, if the fan clutches in, you lose all kinds of power. OK folks so what's up with this fan? Why is it kicking in So soon? I'm no expert but it does seem to be a little over anxious. The Ford (1st place) did not have that problem and it did not overheat or blow up. Any of you GM experts want to shed some light on the subject? Does GM realized there is a problem here and if so are they doing anything about it? I'm glad my truck is well protected in the cooling department; however, I think they may have gone a little overboard.

More Power
08-22-2004, 17:00
The fan-clutch in these trucks engage when the air temperature between the radiator and the fan-clutch reaches approximately 195 degrees.

There are four heat exchangers in the airflow path between the front of the grille and the fan-clutch (in Allison equipped trucks) - ATF cooler, A/C Condenser, Intercooler, and Radiator.

My guess is the heat load caused by the intercooler (and possibly the A/C condenser) is what caused the fan-clutch to engage in the MT test.

From the plethora of notes taken at our most recent Pull-Off event, it appears just one Duramax equipped truck experienced fan-clutch engagement during the hill-climb. And, that one was largely due to the A/C being used just before launching on the hill. We recommended drivers not use A/C on the 3 mile trip from the campground to the bottom of the hill, to avoid engaging the fan-clutch during the pull. To be fair, all drivers or all three brands of trucks were given the same advice.

MP

rdanley
08-22-2004, 17:50