PDA

View Full Version : Diesel vs. Gas Reliability

roegs
02-07-2003, 14:55
I'll admit right now that I'm brand new to this diesel stuff...my number of posts counter is sitting at 1, and I certainly don't intend to offend any one. I just traded my old 454, and have a '03 Duramax on order. As I scroll through the postings in this forum, I'm getting a little nervous about seeing topics such as smoking, poor performance, bad fuel, bad injector pumps, etc. I'm hoping these are just isolated cases. My old big block gasser gave me many miles of trouble free performance with just normal maint. Can I expect the same from my new DMAX?

Thanks!

bora
02-07-2003, 15:01
It is called the "internet effect," you only hear about people's problems. I had mine for about a year and 15000 miles now and no problems so far.

The transmission does get confused when my wife drives the truck for a few days though. I have to retrain it :)

Heartbeat Hauler
02-07-2003, 15:12
I had a 94 Dually with the 454 motor. It was great! I now have a 2001 Dually DMAX/Allison, best move I ever made. I will say that the 94 had a more confortable interior than the 01 does, but I wouldn't go back.
JP

SoCalDMAX
02-07-2003, 15:30
My previous truck was a '97 Ranger with an anemic 4 cyl in it. When I filled up with gas, the attendant had to help push off. I still towed over the mtns with it, but it was a white-knuckle rollercoaster ride at best.

The Dmax is just a touch better. The #1 comment I hear from passengers is "HOLY CR@P!!!" Followed closely by #2: "I thought you said this thing is a diesel?"

Bora is right, for every Dmax with a problem, there are 10,000 out there quietly hauling something over the next mtn. These are complex trucks, but IMHO, as reliable if not more reliable than other brands.