PDA

View Full Version : Fuel filter change

Impala driver 2
05-19-2005, 05:43
I am new to the Diesel Page and also a new first time diesel owner. 2005 Duramax, 2500HD, crew cab, 4X4, short bed 2.5K miles. So far I LOVE it; put on the cruise and go. All those years pulling with underpowered and over loaded trucks are finally over for me.

Have a question that most of you here can probably do blindfolded and I can not seem to find on this site. If it is on this site please point the way.

What are the steps on changing out the fuel filter on my truck?

What brand fuel filter do you suggest I use?

Is NAPA OK?

Thank you for your help.
Larry

More Power
05-19-2005, 07:43
Larry,

Welcome to the BB! Have a look at the Duramax Fuel Filter Replacement (http://www.thedieselpage.com/members/duramax/dmaxfuelfilt.htm) article we produced a while back.

Let us know if you have any questions.

MP

Kennedy
05-19-2005, 07:54
The first filter change is the most important in my opinion. There is a lot of potential for dirt (static attraction and mfg debris) in the tank, lines etc. At 3k my first LLY filter looked as bad as many 7-10k filters.

Regardless of what is inked on the outside, all filters (at this time) are made by the same mfr. the only difference being some have the old single layer media units at discount prices.

Impala driver 2
05-19-2005, 12:25
Does any one know the parts numbers for the new style double filter fuel filter from NAPA?

This is so I won't get sold an old single style.

Thanks
Larry

bobo
05-20-2005, 18:55
I yanked the front tire off and reached up behind the fender well liner. It worked well.

Madd Max
05-20-2005, 18:57
Impala driver 2,