PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone agree on safe boost levels?

AndyL
12-16-2003, 10:21
Hours of searching didn't really leave me with an acceptable safe boost level for my 99 6.5. Heath recommends 7, people on the TDP range from 6 to 11, the two guys at the local Diesel Shop both run 22 (with stock compression)! As everyone else, I want max performance without having to change head gaskets every few months. Or do I keep raising it until I run into Exhaust temp problems?

I have a Turbo Master and need recommendations.

Thanks

Andy

[ 12-16-2003, 09:42 AM: Message edited by: AndyL ]

More Power
12-16-2003, 12:46
Just my opinion....

The GM-x series of turbochargers are efficient up to about 12 psi. Above that, the exhaust backpressures between the turbine and the heads rise exponentially. The turbine is too small for high boost pressures and power levels.

So, it becomes increasingly counterproductive to run boost pressures above about 12 psi. Some use up up to 15 psi with the Gm turbos, but above ~12 psi, the backpressures rise through the roof, which drastically raises EGT and intake air temperature.

In general, if you're using a GM-x series turbo, limit boost to 10 psi or lower if you do not have an intercooler or up to 12 psi or a little more if you do.

The Peninsular non-wastegated turbos can run at pressures of up to about 20 psi of so, without restricting exhaust flow nearly as much.

There is a relationship between boost pressure and compression ratio, with regard to safe limits. With stock pistons, I'd feel a lot more comfortable with 10-12 psi. I know of at least two 18:1 6.5's that run 18-20 psi on a regular basis using a Peninsular turbo without any problems - thus far.

MP

cruzer
12-16-2003, 12:51