PDA

View Full Version : How many people use their electronic 6.5TD's for work?

RT
03-22-2004, 18:34
Hey guys,
I am a carpenter/contractor that has outgrown my pickup. I just can't take all the tools I need everyday with me, they aren't secure in the back of a truck and I am tired of unloading/loading every day. I have big tool boxes already and a cap is not practical. I am looking at used 10-12ft box vans preferably with SRW's. This should provide plenty of room for all the tools and 4x8 sheet space when needed. The dilemma is this: If I want to stay GM I am stuck with a thirsty gasser or (gulp) an electronic 6.5TD. A guy I work with has a '00 GMC, 16ft box van with the electronic 6.5 that has gone, and continues to go through the typical electronic pump issues. I can't have that happen. If I don't work, I don't get paid, have to stay on schedule, etc. I am afraid of the electronic pump. I have a few options I guess:
1. Buy the gasser and deal with low mpg/high fuel costs.
2. Buy the electronic 6.5TD and start praying.
3. Buy the electronic 6.5TD and convert it to mechanical at the first sign of problems? I know trucks and subs have been done, but anyone ever do a van?
4. Scour the earth for a 93-or earlier gm diesel van. Tough to come by in decent shape, most have been used HARD.
I'd like to hear from guys that depend on electronic 6.5's to make their paycheck and how reliable they are. Thanks, and sorry for the long post. RT

Bobbie Martin
03-22-2004, 18:59
Chevy made 6.5L mechanical pump (non turbo)G vans from 94-96 and P chassis from 94-99. Not sure how hard it would be to find one. To check if it has the MFI engine, the 8th digit in the VIN will be a "Y". Converting to mechanical pump should be no different than any other 6.5 with a 4L80E. Probably have to use gas van throttle linkage, etc.

patrick m.
03-22-2004, 19:00
i drive mine everyday, mostly to and from work, but there are many times we use it to pull a load on a trailer.