PDA

View Full Version : Tranny Temp Sensor

Fredeberle
03-20-2004, 15:11
Another newbie here,
Ready to install gauges and notice the isspro kit has a 1/2 NPT fitting enclosed. Can I braze a piece of 1/2 brass coupling to the tranny pan for the sender ? That way I hope to have a drain plug & sensor holder all in one.
Thanks for a great site and all the useful info.
Fred

MTTwister
03-20-2004, 17:12
I just got a 2WD tranny pan from GM - Took them a week plus to do a nation wide search!

The 2WD has a drain plug, but, I haven't pulled the plug out of the it yet, initially looks like a smaller thread. If you have the ready resources, drilling your own pan would be a good way to temp probe, and future drains for the pan.

Another option, is to put a 'street Tee' in the tranny cooler line that goes to the Rad - it's alledgedly the hottest point of the oil.

Are you also considering Synthetic during your Tranny pan swap? I have my pan, but the guages are awaiting the 'downpipe' (only :rolleyes: - have to do a cheap job - thanks leaky roof).

Anyhoo - Don't be looking for a ready replacement from GM for the pan - do your own thing!

Enjoy the day - we've a nice couple of ones here!

[ 03-20-2004, 04:26 PM: Message edited by: MTTwister ]

tanker
03-21-2004, 03:46
Don't braze or weld the pan unless you can secure it to an old transmission case/housing. Mine warped and I could not use it. Went to my GM dealer and bought a new 2 whl/drive pan (less $$ than the gasket) with a drain plug, but it was a different strange thread. I put in a tee on the cooler line, using steel hydraulic fittinngs. Don't use brass compression fittings, they will leak. :eek:

Cooperrw
03-21-2004, 04:31
I used a tee fitting and put it in the line going to the radiator, so far no leaks from the brass fitting. (knock on wood) :cool:

tanker
03-21-2004, 07:30