PDA

View Full Version : please tell me if I am on the right track or not!!!!!

James S
07-09-2003, 20:08
Hey There,

I would like to run my list of fluids, [which I use year round], passed you, if I could. Please offer recommendations if I am using incorrect ones. Thanks for your help, as always!
Oil: Mobil Delvac1 synthetic, 5w40
Transmission AND Transfer case fluid, Mobil1 synthetic, Dexron III automatic transmission fluid
Front AND Rear differentials, Mobil1 75W90 synthetic, gear oil
Are these good?????? I am a cabinet maker by trade. My load varies from day to day. I live in Edmonton Alberta Canada, and have a GMC Sierra 2500HD, SLT, Crew cab, long-box, four by four. I do LITE towing, but inconsistantly, and my load varies. The heaviest I have towed is four-thousand pounds. It can be just me and the tool boxes and Leer122 canopy, one day, or, I have also hauled several twenty-five hundred pound lifts of Melamine in the bed of the truck other days. [hence getting the 2500HD] I am amazed with the truck, so want to take care of it. I have read about Transynd for the tranny and transfer case. How is the Mobil1, compared to it? Can I use it, instead of Transynd? If no, how come? The same for the diff fluid???? Thanks again, all of you.

James S
PS, I forgot to mention, I use Racor fuel filters, Amsoil air filter, AC Delco oil filters, and the Super Magnetic, oil drain plug. Anything else or different to use?

[ 07-09-2003, 08:13 PM: Message edited by: James S ]

WhiteDuramax
07-09-2003, 20:15
I was thinking that one of the differentials took 80/90 and the other 75/90 but I could be wrong. Dont think it would hurt anything the way you have it.

dmaxalliTech
07-09-2003, 20:17