PDA

View Full Version : Diesel Fuel Quality

george morrison
09-08-2002, 08:57
During the summer I was buying what I thought was "premium" diesel fuel (cetane index of 50) only to find that it was barely #2 spec of 40! Here I am a lube engineer, living with oil analysis results each day and I never once tested my diesel fuel quality! My number one vehicle cost and I just accepted it as being high quality.. Not only was it low cetane, the amounts of contaminats in the fuel both dirt and water, relative to ISO cleanliness levels would not qualify the fuel for use as a hydraulic fluid in a 1000 psi garbage truck system much less our 20,000+ PSI fuel system..
George

TLA
09-08-2002, 09:56
In the 70's, I attended a Bosch fuel injection school in Denver. The instructors were also driving around, buying fuel and testing it. They said the results were amazing, with high contamination, and a lot of water. We thought it mostly a result of th fuel crisis. Sorry to hear it is still a problem. Probably we all should condider additional filtering/water separation.

mackin
09-08-2002, 10:53
I felt the proof is all ready out there with the problems reported here due to early fuel filter contamination,lose of power etc.....George is just confirming it with a hands on test....Best to keep up a rigorous fuel filter changes....At $18 bucks a pop cheap insurance.....I'll keep DIS'S number handy.....Wonder why there seems to be a issue with cruddy dirty injectors?????Could it be a result of sub standard lousy fuel???? ;)

MAC

opiekelly
09-08-2002, 15:54
What is the smallest micron filter out there? I sure don't want to go through this injector problem again. 4 injectors replaced and another 4 on the way. Also has anyone seen a recent consumer report on fuel quality?

opiekelly
09-08-2002, 18:58